Cannot copy to new Seagate External Disk

My old hard disk (let’s call it D) was already acting up so I bought a new Seagate one. Because of my procastinating habit, D gave up before I copied the files to my new Seagate. I was not too worry though, it just contained 14 years of my life’s pictures among other files 유유 . I convinced myself, when I need it, God will bring it to life.

So, finally the time when I need one of my files arrived. My last year tax submission, since that day was the last two days of this year tax submission and I completely forgot how to fill out a tax form. So I asked God, today I need my hard disk. Please show me your power God. Nothing happen. I just plug  D to my Mac and let it be. Not until after lunch, finally my Mac can read D. Yeay …..that moment, I felt ashamed for asking God to show me His power. I’m sorry for doubting YOU for even just a moment.

The next challenge is to copy the file to Seagate. For some reasons, it won’t work. After some searching, it turned out the Seagate was format for read only. So I found this link that helped me solve the problem. Will copy paste just in case the link cannot be found in the future: http://tidbits.com/article/10307

Below is a COPY PASTE from the above link (credit to the writer) :

Launch Disk Utility. Plug the new external drive into your computer, provide it with power as needed, and switch it on. When the new disk appears in Disk Utility, select itstop-level icon. (I stress this because the disk is represented by two icons, one for the physical disk, as it were, and one for the single volume it contains.) Now switch, not to Erase, but to Partition.

On the Partition pane, everything will appear to be greyed out, as if you had encountered a brick wall. That’s because before you can do anything, you have to change the partition arrangement, using the Volume Scheme pop-up menu. You have to do this even if you don’t actually want to change the number of partitions. So, the Volume Scheme pop-up menu starts out saying Current. Change that. The minimal change is to 1 Partition. I’m not going to tell you that you need any more partitions than one, or how big they should be; that’s up to you, and depends on how this disk will be used.

Now stop. Stop! I know you think the next thing to do is give the drive a name and assign it a format – probably Mac OS Extended (Journaled), the default (and rightly so). But don’t do it yet. See the Options button below the rectangular graphic depicting your partition scheme? Click it. Click it! This is the key, all-important step. From this one step stems all the trouble or goodness, the success or failure that your reformatting of this new external hard disk will be met with.

Why? Because there are three possible partition schemes, and many disks come with Master Boot Record, which is absolutely wrong for a Mac. You must choose between GUID Partition Table and Apple Partition Map. The latter is the most universal for use with Macs; you can’t go wrong this way, unless you want to use the disk as a startup disk. If you do, then your choice here depends on what kind of Mac you want to start up from this disk. Intel-based Macs prefer GUID Partition Table; they can boot from disks partitioned using Apple Partition Map, but won’t let you install Leopard to such disks directly (you must clone a copy of Leopard from a GUID-partitioned disk to get this to work), and will prevent you from installing firmware updates on your Mac while you’re booted from such a disk. On the other hand, PowerPC-based Macs can boot only from an Apple Partition Map disk. (See Jonathan “Wolf” Rentzsch’s “Booting an Intel iMac from an External Drive,” 2006-01-30.) Apple also cautions that the same distinction applies if the disk is to be used as a Time Machine backup, though I’m not entirely certain why.

So choose your partition scheme and click OK. Now enter a volume name and a format, and click Apply. Presto! The disk is reformatted in the twinkling of an eye, and is ready for use.

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 2.14.08 PM

Leave a Reply

