Exploring the Freelance World #2 : Mystery Shopper

I don’t think I need to explain what “Mystery Shopper” is. The name is quite explanatory.  Don’t think to get rich out of this activity and don’t apply to a company who asked you to pay or transfer some money to be their mystery shopper.

There are several websites that you can look into if you want to experience being a mystery shopper.

1. http://www.shoppinggratis.com

Markplus, quite a reputable research company in Indonesia, is the name behind it. I have not registered myself but the company name is supposedly a guarantee by itself. The website is in Indonesian, I assume this will be specialized to captured Indonesian market.

2. https://evaluator.helionresearch.com

Again, I have not applied for any job from this company, so I cannot say much. The website shows more than 17,000 likes in Facebook and a member of MSPA (Mystery Shopping Providers Association – mysteryshop.org) so I think this is legitimate.

3. http://www.coylehospitality.com

This is the one that I have just found out and would love to try, just because they specialized in hospitality industry. Unfortunately I do not have much free time at this moment, so I will keep this in mind.

4. http://www.bareinternational.com

Finally, I can say that I have become a mystery shopper through this company. If you are outside the US, I’m afraid you need to open a pay pall account to get your payment.

First, you will need to take the online training and pass. Some projects will require you to take additional training, as for some, basic English test and basic training will suffice.

You can choose your own projects from the posted job announcement. I did two projects on December. I was asked to access the service level of a shop assistant of a brand and also a competitor brand. Within 24 hours after the visit, I had to submit a pre-defined report. Mostly just put yes or no with detail explanation of the observation. The job is not so difficult, the pay is around 10-20 USD per visit. I’m still waiting for my payment though. It was supposedly being paid in January, but got a notice that it will be paid if February. So, let’s see before I’m applying for other projects.

Will I do it again? Yes, if time is on my side. It is fun to be an actress once in a while.

coolImage

Leave a Reply

